Home Scenery Colorado Buildings Ellie Other
Click to View

The Three Bridges

The Forth Bridge is a cantilever railway bridge over the Firth of Forth in the east of Scotland, 9 miles (14 kilometres) west of Edinburgh City Centre. It is considered an iconic structure and a symbol of Scotland. Its construction began in 1882 and was opened on 4 March 1890 by the Prince of Wales. The bridge spans the Forth between the villages of South Queensferry and North Queensferry and has a total length of 8,296 feet (2,528.7 m). It was the longest single cantilever bridge span in the world until 1917 when the Quebec Bridge in Canada was completed. It continues to be world's second-longest single cantilever span. The bridge and its associated railway infrastructure is owned by Network Rail Infrastructure Limited. It is sometimes referred to as the Forth Rail Bridge to distinguish it from the Forth Road Bridge, though this has never been its official name. Prior to the construction of the bridge, ferry boats were used to cross the Firth. In 1806, a pair of tunnels, one for each direction, was proposed, and in 1818 James Anderson produced a design for a three-span suspension bridge close to the site of the present one. Approximately 2,500 tonnes (2,500 long tons; 2,800 short tons) of iron.



The Three Bridges

Edinburgh.

Scotland.

United Kingdom

Website

The Queensferry Crossing (formerly the Forth Replacement Crossing) is a road bridge under construction in Scotland. It is being built alongside the existing Forth Road Bridge and will carry the M90 motorway across the Firth of Forth between Lothian, at South Queensferry, and Fife, at North Queensferry.

Proposals for a second Forth road crossing were first put forward in the 1990s, but it was not until the discovery of structural issues with the Forth Road Bridge in 2005 that plans were moved forward. The decision to proceed with a replacement bridge was taken at the end of 2007; the following year it was announced that the existing bridge would be retained as a public transport link. The Forth Crossing Act received Royal Assent in January 2011, and construction began in September 2011.

The Queensferry Crossing will be a cable-stayed bridge, with an overall length of 2.7 kilometres (1.7 miles). Around 4 kilometres (2.5 miles) of new connecting roads will be built, including new and upgraded junctions at Ferrytoll in Fife, South Queensferry and Junction 1A on the M9. It will be the third bridge across the Forth at Queensferry, alongside the Forth Road Bridge completed in 1964, and the Forth Bridge completed in 1890. The bridge was due to be completed by December 2016, however that date has been put back to May 2017 due to weather delays slowing construction, with 25 days lost due to high winds during April and May 2016. Following a public vote, it was formally named on 26 June 2013.

The Bridge Experience Website

Ref: DP482

Gallery: Other


Copyright © 2012 Don Perry Photography. All Rights Reserved.  Disclaimer/Legal.   


Design by dp


E-mail: don@donperryphotography.co.uk

The Forth Road Bridge is a suspension bridge in east central Scotland. The bridge, opened in 1964, spans the Firth of Forth, connecting Edinburgh, at Queensferry, to Fife, at North Queensferry. It replaced a centuries-old ferry service to carry vehicular traffic, cyclists, and pedestrians across the Forth; rail crossings are made by the adjacent and historic Forth Bridge.

Issues regarding the continued tolling of the bridge, and those over its deteriorating condition and proposals to have it replaced or supplemented by an additional crossing, caused it to become something of a political football for the Scottish Parliament, which voted to scrap tolls on the bridge from 11 February 2008.On 4 December 2015, the bridge was closed to all vehicular traffic, pedestrians and cyclists due to structural issues.

The bridge reopened to all traffic except heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) on 23 December 2015, and it was reopened to HGVs on 20 February 2016.